Please check your class time.
For those who need have already completed the classroom portion of the LTC and need to complete the shooting proficiency portion.
If you have purchased the online LTC through us, you have already paid for this. Please check your email for instructions on how to register.
This is not a firearm training class. This class only covers the Texas laws surrounding carrying a firearm and use of force. The shooting portion of this class is strictly a test.
If you are new to firearms we highly recommend taking our New Pistol Shooter class or LTC Shooting Test with 2 Hour Private Lesson
The LTC Shooting Test meets the classroom and proficiency demonstration requirements for those who have taken Texas DPS approved LTC Online training. Texas DPS requires two hours of training in ADDITION to your online coursework. One hour of classroom instruction and one hour for the proficiency demonstrations. Classroom subjects covered include firearm safety, firearm operation and basic marksmanship. Upon successful completion applicants will fulfilled the state’s requirements.
• A physical copy of your LTC 101 form, signed by your online provider. (We will not sign any forms without a signature)
• State issued driver license
• Firearm; semi-automatic handgun or revolver (.22LR or greater)* No lasers or optics (i.e. Red Dots).
• two magazines
• 50 rounds of factory ammunition (do not load your magazines, ammunition must still be in the factory box)
• Eye and ear protection
• Range appropriate clothing; long pants, comfortable shirt, athletic shoes and a ball cap
If you haven’t completed our online waiver, please do so by clicking here. It must be completed prior to live fire training. This waiver is good for one year.
COURSE REGISTRATION TERMS & CONDITIONS
Attendance Policy: If you are unable to attend the class, you may request a refund or transfer to another class up to 72 hours prior to the class and will be subject to a $35 rescheduling/cancelation fee. No refunds or reschedules will be provided within 72 hours of the class or after the class. Please email the Training Department at email@example.com to request a refund or reschedule your class.
Late Arrival To Class: Due to the safety briefing held at the beginning of the class, students are allotted a 5-minute grace period to arrive. Any student who arrives after 5 minutes past the start time will be considered a “No-Show” and will need to purchase the class again at a later date.
Safety Acknowledgement: Students must understand that this is not a basic firearms class. Students who fail to abide by firearm safety rules or demonstrate an inability to operate the firearm safely may be removed from the class at the instructor’s discretion.
Additional Terms and Conditions: Additional terms and conditions may be found here.
Texas License-To-Carry Shooting Test
The Texas Concealed Handgun License Proficiency Test is a simple timed shooting test designed with plenty of time to take your shots accurately.
Handgun LTC Requirements
• There is no minimum caliber to legally carry as long as it is a legal pistol, however the range requires at the minimum a .22 caliber pistol to qualify.
• If you qualify with a revolver you can carry a semi-automatic.
• All handguns will be inspected by instructors for the safety of the shooter, instructors, and other students. Unsafe handguns will not be allowed for the shooting proficiency test.
• Every student must follow safe gun handling procedures on the range, and in the classroom. Unsafe students will be depending on the severity of the violation, will be warned, or asked to leave the classroom and range. Safety Violators will NOT receive a refund!
Number of Rounds Fired
The shooting test requires 50 rounds of ammunition
License-To-Carry Shooting Proficiency Distances
The shooting test for the LTC is fired at 3 distances:
• 3 yards – 20 rounds fired
• 7 yards – 20 rounds fired
• 15 yards – 10 rounds fired
The majority of students pass the proficiency test when they have completed shooting at 3 and 7 yards. However, all 50 rounds must be shot.
LTC Passing Score
The LTC shooting test passing score is 175 points out of 250 points or a score of 70%. The state allows for three chances to pass the shooting test.
It is simple test that many beginner shooters have qualified with ease as long as they follow range safety officer instructions and apply proper weapons handling.
LTC Shooting Proficiency Test Scoring
• 5 points – shots fired in the X, 10, 9, & 8 rings
• 4 points – shots fired in the 7 ring
• 3 points – shots fired outside the 7 ring but on the silhouette
• 0 points – shots fired outside the silhouette or off the target paper, and or shots incorrectly fired out of order, or not fired at all.
• Shots that hit just outside the ring but break the line count as the higher score